About 2016-06-03T20:14:22+00:00

Women In the Director’s Chair (WIDC)

The Women In the Director’s Chair (WIDC) is an intensive, hands-on mentorship program providing professional and creative development to mid-career Canadian women directors of screen-based fiction. In workshop settings that simulate and explore professional on-set scenarios, Director participants work with highly skilled industry professionals including ACTRA actors, Directors Guild of Canada (DGC), International Alliance of Theatrical and Stage Employees (IATSE), as well as senior film studies students. Follow-up support, including mentoring, awards, fellowships, and career coaching is provided to Director participants to help them integrate what they’ve learned in the program into their careers and subsequent works.

WIDC programs are currently designed for Canadian participants.  International participants may be considered if arranged by a sponsoring country.

Creative Women Workshops Association (CWWA) was formed as a result of an initial collaboration among The Banff Centre, ACTRA and Women In Film and Television Vancouver in order to present the Women In the Director’s Chair Workshop (WIDC).

CWWA is the umbrella organization that administers the WIDC program and provides the platform for fostering follow-up for its alumnae. Since 1997, the collaboration and significant contributions of The Banff Centre and ACTRA toward the WIDC program have helped foster the continued success of the WIDC program. The CWWA Board of Directors oversees the development, delivery, promotion and fundraising for the over all WIDC program, including workshops, director alumnae follow-up mentorship, outreach initiatives, awards, fellowships, and the WIDC Career Advancement Module (CAM).

WIDC Alumnae (1997 – 2016)

  • 220 Women Directors (incl. international)
  • 190 ACTRA Actors
  • 500+ Union & Volunteer Crew

WIDC director alumnae hale from across Canada, and more than 25% come from diverse cultural backgrounds.

WIDC Awards and Fellowships (2002 – 2016)

  • 30 WIDC Director recipients