This fellowship is designed to create an opportunity to enable WIDC Alumnae to attend the Banff World Media Festival where they can make professional connections, pitch their projects, and engage in professional development. This fellowship award includes a pass to attend the festival and a 3-part mentorship: Part 1) prepare for the festival; Part 2) debrief during the festival; Part 3) strategic follow up.

April 15, 2022

Application Criteria:

  • Open to WIDC director alumnae only200 word bio
  • Cover letter (1-page outlining why you, why this Fellowship)
  • Bio (200 words)
  • Photo (jpg)
  • Resume (including filmography)
  • Link to past work
  • 1-sheet(s) for up to 2 projects you plan to pitch at BANFF
    • MUST include:
      • project title
      • genre
      • format
      • summary (up to 500 words)
      • status of the project

Send to:

Past Recipients

  • 2021 Joy Haskell (2021 CAM alumna)
  • 2020 (In response to COVID-19 BANFF pivoted online making some content available for free)
  • 2019 Cjay Boisclair (2018 SWA alumna) and Melanee Murray Hunt (2018 CAM alumna)
  • 2014 Kathleen Hepburn (2014 SIM 2.0 alumna / Feature Film Award winner)
  • 2011 Wendy Ord (2011 CAM alumna)
  • 2010 Sharon Lewis (2009 Banff alumna)
  • 2009 Paula Kelly (2009 Banff alumna)
  • 2008 Karen Hines (2008 Banff alumna)
  • 2007 Leslie Ann Coles (2005 Banff alumna) While at the festival Leslie Ann earned a development deal for her doc series SHOOTING STARS
  • 2006 Jinder Oujla-Chalmers (2005 Banff alumna) While at the festival Jinder earned a $100,000 development deal with APTN or her MOW CODE OF SILENCE and made connections that led to directing work on the Anaid Productions series X-WEIGHTED (Slice)
  • 2005 Carole Ducharme (2004 Banff alumna) Carole was selected to present her comedy series OVER THE RAINBOWS at the BANFF Pitcher’s Paradise
  • 2004 Veronica Tennant (1999 Banff alumna) Veronica was nominated for a Rockie Award her one-hour, SHADOW PLEASURES
  • 2003 Anita Doron (2003 Banff alumna) Anita was nominated for a Rockie Award her short film, NOT A FISH STORY